To The Friends Who Saw Me Hit Rock Bottom

“But most importantly when you do get hurt, whether it’s by someone else, or a direct reflection of your own actions, I think it’s okay to not be okay sometimes. And in that moment you hit rock bottom, remember the only place you can go from there is up.” -K.C

I think there is something quite beautiful about drunk honesty. Those moments, where alcohol has allowed every wall to come down. The only thing you have left to do is break down. Not just a normal breakup, a full fled basket case of tears, with your makeup running black and long, down your face. The only thing you have left are arms holding you at your weakest. It’s those moments you turn to someone you might not usually, and you just tell them everything and they’re there for you.

That’s rock bottom. When you’ve kept it together way too long. Sometimes you see it as weakness, but I see it as you’ve been strong for too long.

It’s okay to not be okay sometimes. Because it’s in your moments, you are at your worst, the people who matter come forward and save you from yourself.

Thank you for loving me at my worst….I have a tough time accepting myself in those moments. I’m not the person I usually am…but even then you accept me. Even then you love me.

And reminding me who I am at my best. And you don’t let me at my worst, replace all the good I’ve done before that. You define me by the better moments not the bad stuff.

Thank you for helping me to become better…You’ve walked with me, helping me to learn. You’ve helped me to grow. And you want better for me.

Even first, if that meant not being at all okay. Because sometimes before you can become better, you have to be worse.

Thank you for walking with me…People choose to stay in our lives. I value that you’ve made that choice every day.

Even if I stumbled a bit. Because when I’m at my worst, I struggle to walk a straight line. But it’s a whole lot easier, when we have friends who help guide us in the right direction.

Thank you for reminding me who I am…For the moments you told me, I’m better than whatever it is that broke me.

And not defining me, by my mistakes. And forgiving me always.

Thank you for picking me up. And you dusted me off.

And reminding me to try again. And were there to tell me, today is a new day.

“You know what’s out there…the world. You’re gonna learn from it every day. You’re gonna make mistakes. You’re gonna make good friends…But when you are not a little boy anymore, when the world taught you how to be this man, you’re still gonna make mistakes. But your family and your friends you made along the way will help you. Even though it seems like the world has gone out of it’s way to teach you these tough lessons, it’s the same world that has given you those friends and family. And you’ll come to believe that the world will protect you too.” -Boy Meets World 

About kirstencorley

Grew up in Jersey. Love for writing, traveling and charity work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

