This Is How My Father Taught Me to Be Treated

“Having a daughter makes you see things in a different way. This is my only girl. So I don’t care what it takes to protect her. You can call it what you want to call it. As long as you treat her the same way I treat her, like my princess, I don’t mind.” -Tracy Morgan 

I’ll be the first to proudly admit, my dad is my best friend. He is the first one I turn to when something goes wrong. He’s the one cleaning up every mess. He’s every answered cal,l late at night and every tear dried, I sometimes hate shedding. He leads the example of how I should live my life, and constantly strives to see me improve, while encouraging and supporting every dream I have.

Being a Daddy’s girl though means having very unbelievably high expectations. We have spent our entire life being worshipped and adored by someone, we’d be damned if we settled now. Not only that, but it would be a slap in the face to him, if we ever dated someone, below the standard, he set so high.

So as a Daddy’s girl, this is what my father showed me through actions, how to be treated by a man.

He pays for everything. 

My dad will laugh at me, if I take my wallet out in his presence. And if I do, it’s only to open it, if he throws some cash my way.

I’m completely capable of paying for my own things. I have a job and good career, that isn’t the point. The point showing me, that chivalry isn’t dead and I shouldn’t believe it to be.

As a guy and potential boyfriend, you pay for things out of respect for the girl, not because you have to, but because you want to.

He opens every door. 

Again, I am completely capable of opening my own door. But, it just shows a sign of respect, again proving chivalry isn’t dead.

He keeps his word. 

Whether it’s being somewhere on time, or following through with a promise, he is the one person I know I can rely on with everything.

Your significant other, should provide you with those same things.

He forgives me. 

Like in relationships, you’ll fight, make mistakes, say things you each regret. But the most important thing is working through it, finding a solution and not holding onto the past, but instead moving forward.

As a daughter, some of the mistakes I’ve made, I still haven’t forgiven myself for, but somehow he has.

Relationships are the same way, you need to forgive each other for the past, if you want any hope at a future.

He’s there when I need him. 

There were times when I need him to just be there. There are times when I need him to do things for me. And it does without questioning it, or making me feel guilty for not being able to do things myself.

I am his priority, and in the midst of raising a family, being a husband, running a company, with many side jobs, I come first. That’s how it should be with your relationship.

He spoils me.

I don’t mean spoiling me with money and extravagant gifts, although he does. He spoils with company, he spoils me with laughs, he spoils me enriching my life, and making it better just by being there. Daddy’s girls aren’t spoiled with possession, but are taught the most important things are those things you can’t buy.

You’re relationship should spoil you in the same way.

He supports me. 

Every dream, no matter how crazy, or if he agrees with it, he’s the first on board supporting me. And when the world is against me, telling me I can’t, he doesn’t. When people question, if what I’m doing is right, or if I should be doing something else, he’s that voice of encouragement. He tells me to keep doing what I’m doing, and never give up on my dreams.

Relationships are supposed to be that number one support system, you have, to help you to achieve everything you want.

He compliments me every day. 

I could be hungover, still drunk or in bed sick and throwing up. He still finds something good to say about me. Dad’s job are so vital to girls, because every which way, from the moment she is little, to when she becomes a woman, someone is telling her she isn’t good enough, pretty enough, smart enough.

Dad’s have to reverse the media and everyone who has attempted to convince her of these things, and teach her to be confident. Confidence is key to never settling and that’s why Dad’s adore their daughter’s so much, because they don’t deserve to settle.

Relationships should be the same way. You should know with confidence, there isn’t a girl in the world that can shake his loyalty towards you.

He protects me.

The world is a terribly ugly place sometimes. People are going to hurt you, situations in life are going to break your heart. Dads do everything to avoid this happening, but when it does, they are simply the arms holding you up through the storm.

A relationship should be the same thing, this person just standing there holding your hand, when shit decides to hit the fan, and it’s already too late to take cover.

He takes care of me and my siblings. 

Financially and emotionally he is someone we’ve all relied on for everything.

But he can’t do that forever. And while he has taught us all to stand on our own feet, and be financially stable on our own, life isn’t meant to be lived alone.

Soon he’ll pass the baton off the a lucky man, who is worthy of standing at the end of the altar, in my presence. Father’s will live the rest of their life with confidence, that daughter’s will be okay. And I’ll be confident in my future, if he’s half the man my father is.

Called me spoiled. Tell me I’m a brat. Say my expectations are too high. And I’ll tell you the only reason they are that way, is because my father taught me they should be.

“Walk me down the aisle, Daddy-it’s just about time.” “Does my wedding gown look pretty, Daddy? Daddy, don’t cry” Oh, with all that I’ve done wrong I must have done something right.” -Bob Calisle 

About kirstencorley

Grew up in Jersey. Love for writing, traveling and charity work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

