There’s No Guarantee of Forever, but We Do Have Right Now

“I am nothing special; of this I’m sure. I am a common man with common thoughts, and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul and to me this has always been enough.” –Nicholas Sparks 

I love you. But I realized a long time ago, I didn’t need you in my life. I can function without you and make it on my own. But the truth of the matter is, I wouldn’t wanna do that sort of thing. What’s a life if you’re only half alive and that’s what I’d feel without you.

There are moments where life captivates me with chaos and confusion, and the only thing that makes sense is you.

You give me strength on my weak days. You give me courage though my doubts. You make me wanna be a better version of myself. In part, because I deserve it. But also you deserve the type of woman who is her best. That’s what you’ve given me, from the moment we met.

To love you the moon and back is a cliché overused. I love you with all I am. If I had only limited words to speak, I’d utter, I love you.

I would never beg to stay. I would never want you to stand still, if you feel you’re destined to be somewhere else. I’d let you go, if you needed me to. I’d never want to look at me with eyes full of resentment, if I kept in one place too long.

But of the many things you should know, it’s that I love you with all I am. You captivate a piece of my heart, that will always be yours, even if we’re parted. So even, if ever we ever part ways, there will always be a place you can come back to.

But for this moment, I am yours as you are mine. Neither of us know, if we can promise forever.

So for now I’ll leave it simply at a thank you for loving me. Thank you for all you are and thank you for all you make me.

Thank you for showing me a world I’ve never known.

Because love like this happens once in a lifetime. I think even if we never met, I’d spend the rest of my life looking for you.

Because soul mates aren’t just people who make you feel complete, but rather someone who allowed us to understand with much gratitude, why we were never whole in the first place.

So to you my love, I say thank you.

“I love you. I am who I am because of you. You are every reason, every hope, and every dream I’ve ever had, and no matter what happens to us in the future, everyday we are together is the greatest day of my life. I will always be yours.” Nicholas Sparks 

About kirstencorley

Grew up in Jersey. Love for writing, traveling and charity work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

